Tina Engstrom

Film4 Summer Screen At Somerset House: 4 – 17 August

The open-air film festival returns with a mixed programme of UK premieres, old favourites and Cannes award-winning films, including comedies, rom-coms, musicals, sci-fis and more. The stunning Edmond J. Safra Fountain Court provides the setting to London’s largest screen set against Somerset House, which itself has provided the backdrop to many movies. So bring a blanket and picnic and head down to Somerset House from 6:30pm. Rugs, picnic hampers, food and drink are also available to buy on site. You can also enjoy DJ sets inspired by the films and special guest introductions from 6:45pm before settling down to enjoy the open-air screening in full surround sound at 9pm.

The 2016 lineup for the film festival at Somerset House includes:

Thursday, 4 August: Opening Night Premiere: Things To Come
Friday, 5 August: Bram Stoker’s Dracula
Saturday, 6 August: Ex Machina + RoboCop (1987)
Sunday, 7 August: Sunset Boulevard
Monday, 8 August: 10 Things I Hate About You
Tuesday, 9 August: Walkabout
Wednesday, 10 August: Centrepiece Premiere: Julieta
Thursday, 11 August: Best of Ten by Kubrick
Friday, 12 August: Jackie Brown
Saturday, 13 August: Galaxy Quest + The Final Girls
Sunday, 14 August: Funny Face
Monday, 15 August: Trainspotting
Tuesday, 16 August: Girlhood
Wednesday, 17 August: Closing Premiere: Captain Fantastic

For more information and to purchase tickets, visit the website for Somerset House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

London Is The Perfect Summer Destination

Summer is always a spectacular time of year to visit London and the rest of the United Kingdom. This year is no exception and here are five great reasons to visit over the next few months.

Read more

Top 10 Facts About Street Art In London

There's a revolution happening in London. But it's not a political one, or even a social one. Far away from the headline-dominating machinations of governmental Westminster and the bright lights of the glitzy west end theatres, an artistic revolution has been gathering pace in the East End of the city. Into this atmospheric, edgy neighbourhood come the artists, often incognito, to adorn the walls with their creative, talented, sometimes controversial works.

Read more