Tina Engstrom

Film4 Summer Screen At Somerset House: 4 – 17 August

The open-air film festival returns with a mixed programme of UK premieres, old favourites and Cannes award-winning films, including comedies, rom-coms, musicals, sci-fis and more. The stunning Edmond J. Safra Fountain Court provides the setting to London’s largest screen set against Somerset House, which itself has provided the backdrop to many movies. So bring a blanket and picnic and head down to Somerset House from 6:30pm. Rugs, picnic hampers, food and drink are also available to buy on site. You can also enjoy DJ sets inspired by the films and special guest introductions from 6:45pm before settling down to enjoy the open-air screening in full surround sound at 9pm.

The 2016 lineup for the film festival at Somerset House includes:

Thursday, 4 August: Opening Night Premiere: Things To Come
Friday, 5 August: Bram Stoker’s Dracula
Saturday, 6 August: Ex Machina + RoboCop (1987)
Sunday, 7 August: Sunset Boulevard
Monday, 8 August: 10 Things I Hate About You
Tuesday, 9 August: Walkabout
Wednesday, 10 August: Centrepiece Premiere: Julieta
Thursday, 11 August: Best of Ten by Kubrick
Friday, 12 August: Jackie Brown
Saturday, 13 August: Galaxy Quest + The Final Girls
Sunday, 14 August: Funny Face
Monday, 15 August: Trainspotting
Tuesday, 16 August: Girlhood
Wednesday, 17 August: Closing Premiere: Captain Fantastic

For more information and to purchase tickets, visit the website for Somerset House.

You may also like

National Theatre Behind the Scenes

On a rather dreary and wet day, two dozen Blue Badge Tourist Guides met in the foyer of the National Theatre for a "behind the scenes" tour. We were split in two groups, all dressed in fetching high viz jackets. Even before we set off our little band was buzzing with excitement, as we were promised a goody bag full of information leaflets on our way out.

Read more

Victory Over Japan Day 70th Anniversary Plans Announced

The Ministry of Defense has announced plans for the 70th anniversary of Victory over Japan Day taking place on 15 August 2015.   Working in collaboration with The Royal British Legion, the commemorations will take place in Central London. 

Read more